Operational alert: Professional money laundering through trade and money services businesses

Reference number: 18/19-SIDEL-025
July 18, 2018

Operational alert: Professional money laundering through trade and money services businesses (PDF version, 150 KB)

Professional money launderers are sophisticated actors who engage in large-scale money laundering on behalf of transnational organized crime groups such as drug cartels, motorcycle gangs and traditional organized crime organizations. Professional money launderers sell their services to these groups and are involved in the majority of sophisticated money laundering schemes; they are not members nor are they involved in the predicate offences that generate illicit proceeds. As such, they present unique identification challenges.

While professional money launderers may be accountants, bankers or lawyers, current financial intelligence suggests that they often are owners of, or associated with, trading companies or money-services businesses. Professional money launderers use their occupation and knowledge, as well as the infrastructure associated with their line of work and their networks, to facilitate money laundering, providing a veneer of legitimacy to criminals and criminal organizations.

This operational alert provides indicators for money laundering carried out through trade and money services businesses. Entities required to report to FINTRAC should use these indicators on their own and in combination to identify potential professional money laundering activities. Reporting entities should also use these indicators in conjunction with a risk-based approach and other money laundering indicators. Financial institutions are especially well positioned to recognize and report on suspicious financial transactions that may be connected to professional money laundering. FINTRAC uses these indicators, along with other sources of information, to assess reporting entities' compliance with their reporting obligations.

Trade-based money laundering

Professional money launderers use trade transactions to legitimize proceeds of crime and move them between jurisdictions and between currencies. FINTRAC has observed two main schemes of this type.

There are many variations on the Black Market Peso Exchange—which is essentially a form of unregistered foreign currency exchange—involving locations other than Latin America, other criminal groups and other world currencies (although the U.S. dollar is the most common). The two versions FINTRAC observes most often are the following:

Indicators of trade-based money laundering by professional money laundering networks

Money services businesses

Money services businesses provide a wide range of unique and valuable financial services to Canadians and international customers; however, the sector has unique challenges and risks with respect to money laundering. Most money services businesses engage in legitimate activities but some allow professional money launderers to exploit their services with their full cooperation. Others turn a blind eye to the fact that they are serving criminals. Professional money launderers who own or are connected to money services businesses use these entities to place and transfer illicit funds.

Indicators of professional money laundering through money services businesses

Reporting to FINTRAC

To facilitate FINTRAC's disclosure process, please include the term #pml in Part G—Description of suspicious activity on the Suspicious Transaction Report. (See also, Guideline 2: Suspicious Transactions and Guideline 3: Submitting Reports to FINTRAC.)

Contact FINTRAC

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2018.
Cat. No. FD4-16/2018E-PDF
ISBN 978-0-660-27307-5

FINTRAC Operational Alerts provide up-to-date indicators of suspicious financial transactions and high-risk factors related to new, re-emerging or particularly topical methods of money laundering and terrorist activity financing.

Date Modified:

Alerte opérationnelle : Blanchiment d'argent professionnel au moyen d'entreprises commerciales et de services monétaires

Numéro de référence : 18/19-SIDEL-025
Le 18 juillet 2018

Alerte opérationnelle : Blanchiment d'argent professionnel au moyen d'entreprises commerciales et de services monétaires (version PDF, 170 ko)

Les blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels sont des intervenants particulièrement habiles qui se livrent à des activités de blanchiment d'argent de grande envergure pour le compte de groupes du crime organisé transnational, par exemple des cartels de la drogue, des bandes de motards et des organisations traditionnelles du crime organisé. Ils vendent leurs services à ces groupes et sont impliqués dans la plupart des stratagèmes de blanchiment d'argent sophistiqués; ils ne sont ni des membres des groupes responsables des infractions sous-jacentes qui permettent de générer des produits illicites ni des participants à celles-ci. Par conséquent, ils présentent un défi unique en matière d'identification.

S'il est vrai que les blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels peuvent être des comptables, des banquiers ou des avocats, il reste que les renseignements financiers actuels laissent entendre qu'il s'agit souvent de propriétaires d'entreprises commerciales ou de services monétaires ou de personnes qui entretiennent des liens avec ceux-ci. Les blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels utilisent leur profession et leurs connaissances ainsi que l'infrastructure de leur domaine de travail et de leurs réseaux pour faciliter le blanchiment d'argent et donner aux activités des criminels et des organisations criminelles une apparence de légitimité.

La présente Alerte opérationnelle contient des indicateurs liés au blanchiment d'argent effectué par l'entremise d'entreprises commerciales ou de services monétaires. Les entités assujetties aux exigences de CANAFE en matière de déclaration devraient utiliser ces indicateurs isolément ou en complémentarité afin de repérer les éventuelles activités de blanchiment d'argent professionnel. Les entités déclarantes devraient également se servir de ces indicateurs de concert avec une approche axée sur les risques et d'autres indicateurs de blanchiment d'argent. Les institutions financières sont particulièrement bien placées pour repérer les opérations financières douteuses pouvant être liées au blanchiment d'argent professionnel qui doivent être déclarées. CANAFE se sert de ces indicateurs, en plus d'autres sources d'information, pour évaluer dans quelle mesure les entités déclarantes s'acquittent de leurs obligations en matière de déclaration.

Blanchiment d'argent par voies commerciales

Les blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels ont recours à des opérations commerciales pour donner une apparence légitime aux produits de la criminalité, et les transférer d'un pays à l'autre ou les convertir en une autre devise. À cet effet, CANAFE a observé deux stratagèmes principaux.

Il existe de nombreuses variantes liées à la négociation de pesos sur le marché noir—qui est essentiellement une forme d'opérations de change non enregistrée—impliquant des endroits autres que l'Amérique latine, d'autres groupes criminels ou d'autres devises dans le monde (bien que le dollar américain soit le plus courant). Voici les variantes les plus fréquemment observées par CANAFE :

Indicateurs de blanchiment d'argent par voies commerciales par des réseaux de blanchiment d'argent professionnels

Entreprises de services monétaires

Les entreprises de services monétaires offrent aux Canadiens et à des clients à l'étranger une vaste gamme de services financiers uniques et très utiles. Cependant, le secteur doit faire face à des défis et à des risques uniques en ce qui a trait au blanchiment d'argent. La plupart des entreprises de services monétaires se livrent à des activités légitimes, mais certaines d'entre elles permettent à des blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels d'utiliser leurs services en leur offrant leur pleine collaboration. D'autres ferment les yeux sur le fait qu'ils fournissent des services à des criminels. Les blanchisseurs d'argent professionnels qui sont propriétaires d'entreprises de services monétaires ou qui sont liés à de telles entreprises s'en servent pour placer et transférer des fonds illicites.

Indicateurs de blanchiment d'argent professionnel au moyen d'entreprises de services monétaires

Déclaration à CANAFE

Pour faciliter le processus de communication de CANAFE, veuillez inclure le terme #pml dans la Partie G — Description de l'activité douteuse de la déclaration d'opération douteuse. (Consulter également la Ligne directrice 2 : Opérations douteuses et la Ligne directrice 3 : Déclaration des opérations douteuses à CANAFE.)

Contactez CANAFE

© Sa Majesté la reine du chef du Canada, 2018.
No. de cat. FD4-16/2018F-PDF
ISBN 978-0-660-27308-2

Les alertes opérationnelles de CANAFE contiennent des indicateurs d'opérations financières douteuses et des facteurs de risque élevé à jour liés à des méthodes de blanchiment d'argent et de financement des activités terroristes d'actualité, nouvelles ou qui refont surface.

Date de modification :